BLOG TOUR; Freeze by Kaitlyn Davis

Freeze (Midnight Ice #2) By Kaitlyn Davis
Released: 11th July 2017

Freeze_frontcover.jpg

Pandora Scott is in jail…again. Everyone she once loved betrayed her…again. And some of the most powerful people in the world want her dead…yes, again. Sound familiar? But if there’s one thing Pandora is good at, it’s wriggling her way out of life or death situations, and this time is no different. Armed with her ability to disappear and aided by the mysterious Sam, Pandora’s got a plan. Escape the most secure prison in the world. Evade the most powerful trackers on the planet. Forget every word that Jax has ever told her. And figure out how to change one teeny tiny thing—fate. Easy, right? Well…doable, at least.

Teaser Image One

Review

If you are a regular visitor to my blog you will know how much I girl crush on Kaitlyn Davis and her book. Frost (Midnight Ice#1) was one of the first books I formally reviewed and I still think about it on a regular basis. It also changed my reading habits so much and completely opened my eyes to a whole new genre, completely different to my usual thriller and dystopian reads. Cut to several months later and £100’s less in my bank account I now have so many fantasy reads on my shelf, some that I have thoroughly enjoyed and some I am excited to read. And for that reason I am eternally grateful to Kaitlyn.

Freeze picks up where Frost left off. Pandora is imprisoned in a Titan jail because once again Jax is a jerk…
Side Note: there is a constant theme of trust running throughout the whole book. After being betrayed so many time who can Pandora trust? The line between good and bad are constantly blurred and that is definitely one of the reasons this book gets it’s claws into you so early on.
and still Sam is a mystery who we know nothing about.
Where as the first book had focused on Pandora escaping the titans and battling though her feelings with Jackson. This book focused solving Pandora’s unanswered questions; Who is she and why does everyone want her dead? Who is Sam and what does he want? The mystery in the story-line added huge amounts of intrigue to the plot.

I loved the introduction of Naya. I didn’t realise how much Pandora was missing an ally until she had one. Not only was Naya a great companion to Pandora but we were able to see another side to her, which was a refressing change from her usual lone warrior status. Naya also helped expand our knowledge of the magic system, which is my favorite thing about the book. Vampires, Mindreads, Titans… whats not to love??

Its the two men in the book that cause the most trouble as well as all the emotional confusion. Jackson is kindhearted and familiar but is weak and undeserving of Pandora. Sam is caring, helpful and mysterious but who is he? is he even real? can her help Pandora find out who she is, and more importantly who she was?

Overall I loved this book, and I loved diving back into Pandora’s world. I enjoyed the pacing of the story, never too fast but yet there was always something happening. I like the grittier feeling of Freeze compared to the softer Frost can not wait for Fracture!! EEEKKK!!

You can check out my review for Frost… HERE

Thank you for reading and thank you Kaitlyn for letting me be part of your Blog Tour.

Teaser Image Three

Interview with the author

Please tell us a bit about yourself:

Hi everyone! I’m Kaitlyn Davis, Kay Marie, and just Kaitlyn to my friends 🙂
I write young and new adult fantasy series under the name Kaitlyn Davis, and I write contemporary romances under the name Kay Marie! My most popular series is probably my paranormal romance, Midnight Fire, but I’ve also written an epic fantasy series, A Dance of Dragons, a chick lit series, Confessions, and a twisted fairy tale series, Once Upon A Curse!
My newest series, Midnight Ice, is a brand new spin-off series to Midnight Fire. It’s a paranormal adventure seeped in vampire and Greco-Roman lore.

Tell us about Midnight Ice:

Whoops, I guess I jumped the gun a little on the last question Like I said, Midnight Ice is a new paranormal romance series that’s a spin-off of my most popular series, Midnight Fire. Old characters make appearances, but it’s a brand new magical tale!
The story follows a vampire thief named Pandora who ran away from home four years before the book begins. But now, her ex-boyfriend has tracked her down and he’s determined to bring her home. Oh, and there’s a mystery man following her around, claiming they’ve met before. A seriously powerful vampire is trying to kill her. And, well, the fate she’s been trying to outrun? It’s about to catch up.

What inspired you to write this particular story?

I’ve always wanted to revisit the world I created in my Midnight Fire series, but every idea that came to mind seemed insufficient—until Pandora popped into my brain! The moment this badass yet vulnerable vampire thief came to life, I knew her story was the one I’d been waiting for. And before I knew it, the ideas were flowing. Her backstory. Her romance. Her impossible odds. Now, I just need to work on solving her happy ending But I have a few more books to go before I get there, so I’ve got plenty of time!


Where do you get your ideas?

Anywhere and everywhere! I have a running list of crazy ideas in the notes section of my cell phone, and I’m constantly updating it! For my fantasies, a lot of my ideas come from dreams or quotes or artwork I’ve found online. And for my contemporary romances, many more of the ideas were inspired by real life!
It’s a pretty safe bet that anytime I’m staring off into space, I’m really just brainstorming some crazy idea that just popped into my head! My Once Upon A Curse series was first inspired by an idea I had while watching a Disney movie—what if fairy tale characters suddenly jumped out of the screen and into real life? Somehow that morphed into a post-apocalyptic world where a fantasy universe collided with earth, bringing evil queens and magic into our technological world.
Okay, elevator pitch time!
Teaser Image Two

If you had to tell someone about Midnight Ice in thirty seconds or less, what would you say?

Yikes! This is always so tough! Here goes…Midnight Ice is an urban fantasy about a vampire thief named Pandora who’s on the run from an ex-boyfriend, a super powerful vamp, and, well, a little thing called fate! The paranormal world is inspired by vampire as well as Greco-Roman lore, and it’s a spin-off to my popular Midnight Fire series, which has sold over 200,000 copies.

And if you had to describe the series in three words, what would they be?

Action-packed, bad-ass and passionate!

This series is part vampire, and part inspired by Greek Mythology. Can you tell us what this world is like and how you came up with it?

I always try to do something a little different with my books, something unique, and with paranormal romance/urban fantasy that can be difficult to do because there is so much material already out there!

So I decided the best thing to do was to create my own paranormal race! They’re called Titans and they’re sort of a supernatural police force with enhanced strength and stamina, and some have special abilities like tracking or creating lightning or erasing minds. While the beings themselves don’t have much in common with what we think of as the titans of ancient mythology, the lore surrounding their secret society is influenced by some of my favorite Greek tales…the main character’s name is your only hint! You have to read to find out more
And vampires also play a huge role! My original series, Midnight Fire, concentrated on vampire lore and also included a species I created called Conduits who are basically awesome fire-wielding vampire slayers. So with Midnight Ice, I wanted to expand upon that universe by adding this whole new titan species into the mix! We’ll see all three supernatural beings interact (in some killer action sequences, if I do say so myself )

 

This is a spin-off to your bestselling Midnight Fire series…so, what idea came first? Did you set out to write a spin-off series or did you come up with the story first and then rework the Midnight Fire characters into it?

A little bit of both! Long before Midnight Ice was even an idea, a character jumped into my head—a vampire thief on the run from a past and future she couldn’t escape. I knew I wanted to write her story, but I wasn’t sure how—especially because I’d already written a vampire book and wasn’t sure how I could make the concept seem new all over again.
But the more my thief, Pandora, came to life in my mind, the more I realized she belonged in the same world as Midnight Fire. Her snark, her wit, her act-first-think-second nature completely fit with the characters I introduced in Midnight Fire, and as soon as I realized that, the rest came naturally!

Fans had been asking me for more Midnight Fire ever since the last book, Scorch, went on-sale. So it was so amazing to be able to deliver something fresh while staying in a familiar world And, revisiting the characters from my original series was like hanging out with old friends—so freaking fun!


The second book in the Midnight Ice series just went on sale. What are you planning next?

I just finished my rough draft of the third book in the series, Fracture, which I thought would be the last, but my characters had other ideas in mind! They led me down a crazy, twisted path and I had no choice but to follow I’m currently editing the third book, and outlining the fourth book which should be the finale! But I can’t give anything else away—too many spoilers!

Thank you for answering all of these questions!

Thank you so much for hosting me!! 🙂


Frost (Midnight Ice #1)

Even the hottest love can turn a girl cold-blooded…

Frost_frontcover

Life’s tough for a vampire thief on the run–just ask Pandora Scott, she knows. Four years ago she ran away from home after everyone she loved betrayed her. But now her annoyingly grown up (and handsome) ex boyfriend is stalking her, begging her to return.A mysterious vamp with a particularly dangerous (and sexy) stare keeps popping unexpectedly into her life. The extremely powerful head vampire of New York is hunting her down because she may (or may not) have broken into his highly-secure, highly-secretive personal vault. And the fate she’s been trying to outrun? Well, it’s about to catch up. Because even a super-speedy vamp with the ability to disappear can’t escape her own destiny.

 

• Amazon  • Apple • B&N • Google Play  • Kobo  • Smashwords •


Fracture (Midnight Ice #3)

When you fall for the devil, you’re bound to get burned.

Fracture_frontcover.jpg

Pandora Scott’s world has blown up once again, but this time she’s learned her lesson–saving the world isn’t a job she can do solo. She needs friends. But when her strongest ally also happens to be the boy who shattered her heart, it’s not as easy as it sounds. Especially since the person she has to destroy might just be the love of her life. With her fate hanging in the balance, Pandora’s got to make a choice. Forgive? Forget? Fight? Or falter? But everything changes when she realizes that the people she thought were heroes might be villains, and the good guys aren’t always as trustworthy as they seem…

 

 

• Amazon • Apple • Google Play • Kobo • Smashwords •


 

Kaitlyn Author Photo

Author Bio: 

Kaitlyn Davis, a bestselling author with over a quarter of a million books sold, writes young adult fantasy novels under the name Kaitlyn Davis and contemporary romance novels under the name Kay Marie. Publisher’s Weekly has said, “Davis writes with confidence and poise,” while USA Today has recommended her work as “must-read romance.”

Always blessed with an overactive imagination, Kaitlyn has been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to share her work with the world. When she’s not daydreaming, typing stories, or getting lost in fictional worlds, Kaitlyn can be found playing fetch with her puppy, watching a little too much television, or spending time with her family. If you have any questions for her–about her books, about scheduling an event, or just in general–you may contact her at: KaitlynDavisBooks@gmail.com


Don’t forget to share your thoughts in the comments section below & follow for more content

You can find all reviews…. here

INSTAGRAM GOODREADS 

THANK YOU FOR READING

FullSizeRender

2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR; Freeze by Kaitlyn Davis

Leave a Reply

