ARC BOOK REVIEW; Skullsworn

Skullsworn by Brian Staveley
Release Date; 25th April 2017

Pyrre Lakatur doesn’t like the description skullsworn. It doesn’t capture the beauty of her devotion to Ananshael, God of Death. And she’s not an assassin, but a priestess. Or she will be, if she can pass her final trial. The problem isn’t killing, as Pyrre has spent her life training for this. The problem is love. To pass the trial, she will have fourteen days to kill seven people detailed in an ancient song, including one true love, ‘who will not come again’. However, Pyrre has never been in love, time is short, and if she fails she’ll be given to her god.

Skullsworn

This is a shorter review than I would usually do. Purely because I am in the middle of a huge reading binge but I felt obliged to tell people just how amazing this book was….
To set the scene, the story follows Pyrre, a young soon-to-be priestess trained in the art of all things deadly, travelling back to her home town of Dombang to complete the challenge of killing seven specific targets in 14 days, oh and to fall in love. Thus proving her worthy of becoming a priestess devoted to the God, Ananshael. But will her last kill prove to be too much, even for Pyrre?

I have never read anything by Brian Staveley before, and honestly I would of had no clue it was a spin off from another series if it weren’t for goodreads.
I feel obliged to address this matter because all other reviews do… but honestly its irrelevant, because it effects the book in no way what so ever.

This isn’t my usual sort of read, but I a desperately trying to read more varied genres and break away from my comfort genre of Dystopia.
And honestly, I really enjoyed it. The writing was a little more descriptive and poetic than I was used to, I found myself getting so lost in the story I didn’t even notice the writing style after a while.
The writing was so evocative; setting the scene in no way have experienced before.

I really enjoyed Pyrre and the mental and physical journey she allowed us to witness. She was gritty and determined and BADASS.
In fact the whole story was incredibly bad ass with just the right amount of love thrown in.

You can check out the author… HERE

Thank you NetGalley & Brian Staveley


Don’t forget to share your thoughts
in the comments section below
& follow for more content

You can find my other reviews…. here

INSTAGRAM GOODREADS 

THANK YOU FOR READING
BOOKPOLAR
XXX

One thought on “ARC BOOK REVIEW; Skullsworn

Leave a Reply

