(What should be my) To Be Read…

To be read, ARGH, the dreaded TBR list, where people… mainly me, writes a list of books that they hope to, but never will, achieve. Anywhoos…

to-be-read-1

I desperately need to get cracking on the many series’ that I have started and only read the first book of, consisting of…


“Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault…”

I generally don’t read sci-fi books but due to all the hype and my own curiosity I decided to give Illuminae a shot and really enjoyed it. I loved this different reading style and it kept me engaged from beginning to end. I am a bit disappointed Gemina features different characters but I am definitely looking forward to reading it.

 


“Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents’ invention, to cross into alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse—even hurting the people she loves. She resists until her boyfriend, Paul, is attacked and his consciousness scattered across multiple dimensions.
Marguerite has no choice but to search for each splinter of Paul’s soul. The hunt sends her racing through a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each world brings Marguerite one step closer to rescuing Paul. But with each trial she faces, she begins to question the destiny she thought they shared.”

 

I own the book but chose to listen to this one on Audible (a little something for the journey to work). I found the story line quite confusing. It seemed like the ‘firebird’ could do anything and everything at very convenient times in the book to over come specific story line problems. Honestly… I doubt I am every going to find the time to read it.

 


“This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.”

I did not particularly enjoy the first book, I found it 300+ pages of non story that realistically could have been summed up with a couple of pages. However having the whole series on my shelf I feel obliged to finish it. But the story line of the next books seems a lot more engaging.

 

“Ruby can’t look back. Fractured by an unbearable loss, she and the kids who survived the government’s attack on Los Angeles travel north to regroup. With them is a prisoner: Clancy Gray, son of the president, and one of the few people Ruby has encountered with abilities like hers. Only Ruby has any power over him, and just one slip could lead to Clancy wreaking havoc on their minds.
They are armed only with a volatile secret: proof of a government conspiracy to cover up the real cause of IAAN, the disease that has killed most of America’s children and left Ruby and others like her with powers the government will kill to keep contained. But internal strife may destroy their only chance to free the “rehabilitation camps” housing thousands of other Psi kids…”

After finding the first half of The Darkest Minds amazing and the second half of the book surprisingly dull. Reluctantly I dragged myself to read the second book, and enjoyed it; not the worst yet not the most amazing but good enough to keep me interested and wanting to read the third in the series.

 

“Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?”

 I am currently 20 pages into this book and have been for at least 4 months. I enjoyed the first book. It was a such an easy read I managed to finish it in a night. However I am not desperately inspired to get stuck into Prodigy, purely, I think, because I have sooooo many books on my shelf that I am desperate to read.

to-be-read2

ARGHHH…. TBR!


Don’t forget to share your thoughts
in the comments section below
& follow for more content

You can find my other reviews…. here

INSTAGRAM GOODREADS 

THANK YOU FOR READING
BOOKPOLAR
XXX

Leave a Reply

